HOLYOKE — <u>Ballot questions</u> were approved on Election Day Tuesday to increase the mayor's term to four years from the current two years and to reduce the City Council to 13 members from the current 15.

Voters defeated a question to increase councilors' terms to four years from the current two years.

Voters also narrowly rejected a question calling for the position of city treasurer to be changed from an elected to an appointed position – a denial that will hinder officials' plans to restructure the financerelated offices of city government into a centralized operation.

Those four questions were binding and the two that passed will take effect with the municipal election in 2017.

A fifth question was nonbinding, with voters saying no that advisory query, which asked whether the city should switch from a mayor to a city manager – by a margin of more than 4 to 1.

Mayor Alex B. Morse supported the increase of the mayor's term to four years. The main argument has been two years is too little time for a mayor to carry out a city improvement plan.

After year one, a mayor in a two-year term already must begin devoting time to running for re-election.

Morse told The Republican editorial board on Oct. 15 that Holyoke is a small city with big-city problems like poverty, troubled schools and drug-related and other crimes fueled by street gangs that keep police busy. Two years is insufficient to begin putting a dent into such problems, he said.

Also, business leaders want the stability that comes with a mayor they know will be in office for four years, he said.

If the question regarding the treasurer had passed, under a plan proposed by Morse and City Council President Kevin A. Jourdain, the treasurer would be merged with the tax collector. The tax collector is now appointed by the City Council.

The new position of treasurer-collector also would be appointed by the City Council. The job would be filled based on an application and interview process with candidates being eligible only if they have certain skills and experience beyond just getting the most votes.

Then, under the Morse-Jourdain plan, the treasurer-collector would join other finance-related offices like the Board of Assessors and city auditor under a new department head of chief financial officer.

The goal was to centralize the currently splintered financial operations, Morse and Jourdain said. Such a structure would ensure that such City Council appointees have a day-to-day supervisor, the chief financial officer, which is now missing, they said.

Here are the questions as they appeared on the Election Day ballot:

- 1. Should the City Council be reduced to 13 members -- consisting of seven by ward and six at large -- from the current format of 15, with seven ward and eight at large?
- 2. Should the mayor's term be increased to four years from the current two years?
- 3. Should the terms of city councilors be increased to four years from the current two years?
- 4. Should the city treasurer be changed from an elected to an appointed position?
- 5. (Nonbinding) Should the city switch from a mayor to city manager?

Election Results: Nov. 3, 2015:

HOLYOKE

LIOK	L		
2	Office/Ballot Question	Candidate	Count
3	Mayor	Francis P. O'Connell	4855
4	Mayor	Alex B. Morse III (winner)	5429
5	City Treasurer	Joshua A. Garcia	4152
6	City Treasurer	Sandra A. Smith (winner)	5113
7	School Committee At Large	John G. Whelihan	4398
8	School Committee At Large	Erin B. Brunelle (winner)	4772
9	Councilor Ward 1	Dr. Juan Cruz	319
10	Councilor Ward 1	Gladys Lebron-Martinez (winner)	485
11	School Committee Ward 1	John C. Pietrzykowski Sr.	307
12	School Committee Ward 1	Mildred I. Lefebvre (winner)	401
13	Councilor Ward 2	Nelson R. Roman (winner)	461
14	Councilor Ward 2	Jonathan Moquin	305
15	School Committee Ward 2	Rosalee Tensley Williams (winner)599
16	Councilor Ward 3	Bruce F. Mitchell	517
17	Councilor Ward 3	David K. Bartley (winner)	1184
18	School Committee Ward 3	Dennis W. Birks Jr. (winner)	1275
19	Councilor Ward 4	Kurt M. Bordas	168
20	Councilor Ward 4	Jossie M. Valentin (winner)	672
21	School Committe Ward 4	Irene G. Feliciano-Sims (winner)	634
22	Councilor Ward 5	Christine G. Burns	624
23	Councilor Ward 5	Linda Vacon (winner)	1326
24	School Committee Ward 5	John P. Brunelle (winner)	1489
25	Councilor Ward 6	Kevin A. Jourdain (winner)	818
26	Councilor Ward 6	Juan C. Anderson-Burgos	710
27	School Committee Ward 6	Sadie C. Cora	513
28	School Committee Ward 6	William R. Collamore (winner)	901
29	Councilor Ward 7	Jon D. Lumbra	711
30	Councilor Ward 7	Todd McGee (winner)	1245
31	School Committe Ward 7	Dorothy R. Albrecht	941
32	School Committe Ward 7	Nyles L. Courchesne (winner)	953
33	Councilor At-Large	Peter R. Tallman (winner)	5476
34	Councilor At-Large	Daniel B. Bresnahan (winner)	4286
35	Councilor At-Large	Michael J. Sullivan (winner)	3833
36	Councilor At-Large	Joseph M. McGiverin (winner)	4988
37	Councilor At-Large	James M. Leahy (winner)	4575
38	Councilor At-Large	Jennifer E. Chateauneuf (winner)	3803
39	Councilor At-Large	Jordan M. Lemieux	2660
40	Councilor At-Large	Mimi Panitch	3021
41	Councilor At-Large	Mike Franco	1730
42	Councilor At-Large	Darlene Elias	1836
43	Councilor At-Large	Anne N. Thalheimer	1197
44	Councilor At-Large	Howard B. Greaney Jr. (winner)	3845

45	Councilor At-Large	Rebecca Lisi (winner)	3799
46	Councilor At-Large	Adrian K. Dahlin	1925
47	Councilor At-Large	James F. Brunault	2828
48	Councilor At-Large	Jemma B. Penberthy	859
49	Question #1	Yes (passed)	5879
50	Question #1	No	3490
51	Question #2	Yes (passed)	5288
52	Question #2	No	4238
53	Question #3	Yes	3650
54	Question #3	No (failed)	5760
55	Question #4	Yes	4618
56	Question #4	No (failed)	4695
57	Non Binding public opinion advisory question Yes		1578
58	Non Binding public opinion advisory question	n:No (failed)	7504